## **GUIDANCE FOR PROCTORIAL ELECTIONS**

## **Qualifications of Candidates**

- 1. A candidate must be an ordained priest or deacon who is one of the following:
  - (a) a qualified elector (see paragraphs 3 and 4 below) in the diocese (excluding all assistant bishops);
  - (b) a person who would be a qualified elector if he or she had been a member of a deanery synod in the diocese (i.e. a priest or deacon holding written permission from the bishop to officiate within the diocese);
  - (c) a person qualified to vote in the Universities and TEIs constituency who:
    - (i) would be qualified as a diocesan elector (see paragraphs 3 and 4 below) but for the fact that he or she is not qualified to vote in that constituency.
    - (ii) is beneficed in, or licensed to, any parish in the diocese or area or is licensed to serve as a vicar in a team ministry in any benefice in the diocese or area: and
    - (iii) has elected to stand in the diocesan election rather than in the election to the universities and TEIs constituency.
- 2. A candidate must not be the holder of a paid office or employment to which one of the following central bodies may make or confirm an appointment:

the General Synod the Church Commissioners\*

the Convocations the Church of England Pensions Board

the Corporation of Church House

the Archbishops' Council

\*(A Church Commissioner in receipt of a salary or other emolument is not so disqualified.)

## **Qualification of Proposers and Seconders**

- 3. Proposers and seconders must be electors qualified as such at <u>6.00 a.m. on 28 February 2025</u> (the date of the letter of citation). A bishop, priest or deacon is a qualified elector (subject to the exceptions in paragraph 4 below) if in one of the following categories:
  - (a) assistant bishops in the diocese (but not members of the house of bishops of the diocesan synod);
  - (b) archdeacons of the diocese;
  - (c) beneficed clergy of the diocese;
  - (d) clergy holding office in a cathedral in the diocese;
  - (e) in the diocese of London and Oxford respectively: clergy holding office at Westminster Abbey and St George's Chapel, Windsor (but not the deans of those collegiate churches);
  - (f) clergy licensed under seal by the bishop of the diocese (including any clergy resident outside the diocese but holding licence of the bishop of that diocese); and
  - (g) clergy with permission to officiate who are members of a deanery synod of the diocese.
- 4. The following are not qualified electors:
  - (a) suffragan and other bishops who are members of the house of bishops of the diocesan synod;
  - (b) the dean of any cathedral in the diocese;
  - (c) the dean of Westminster and the dean of St. George's Chapel, Windsor;
  - (d) all Forces chaplains;
  - (e) the Chaplain-General of Prisons;
  - (f) electors in the universities and TEIs constituency; and
  - (g) members of religious communities.