

Overview of Boards, Council and Committees with elected members

Full details of the bodies with elected members are given in the Committee Handbook, which is available on the Diocesan website at http://www.chichester.anglican.org/diocesan-synod/ in the Related Resources or on request from Church House Hove. A brief outline of the various bodies is given below, to assist those who may be considering standing for election. A copy of the Charity Commission publication, the Essential Trustee, is also available from the same places.

The Bishop's Council, Finance Committee and Mission and Pastoral Committee ("the Executive")

These three committees have unified membership in order to create a single body with strategic oversight of the Diocese, subject to the direction of the Diocesan Synod: all those elected to the Bishop's Council also serve as members of the Finance Committee and Mission and Pastoral Committee. The unified body meets at least four times a year, generally on Thursday evenings.

The Bishop's Council and Standing Committee of the Diocesan Synod discharges the advisory and consultative functions of Synod but it or the Bishop may require any matter to be referred to Synod.

The Finance Committee is the board of directors of the Chichester Diocesan Fund and Board of Finance (Incorporated), and the members of the Finance Committee are the trustees of the charity. It is subject to the direction of the DBF. It is responsible for strategic and policy decisions, and delegates much of its business to other committees, in particular the Operating Committee, or to officers and employees of the DBF.

The Mission and Pastoral Committee has power to appoint sub-committees, and in practice, the bulk of its work is carried out by two sub-committees, one for the east of the Diocese and one for the west.

1 clergy and 2 lay people from each archdeaconry to be elected. Candidates must be members of Diocesan Synod.

The Council for Apostolic Life

Apostolic life encompasses the call of all the baptised to be witnesses for Christ; to follow their vocation to service in the Kingdom. The Council meets at least twice a year to support and guide the Department for Apostolic Life.

> 2 clergy and 2 lay people to be elected.

The Council for Promotion of the Common Good

The Council focusses on the Common Good strand of the Diocesan strategy. It meets at least twice a year.

> 2 people from each archdeaconry to be elected.

Diocesan Overseas Council

The Council promotes interest in, support for and engagement with the mission work of the churches of the Anglican Communion in co-operation with the Church of England's Partnership for World Mission accredited mission agencies and partners. It meets three times a year.

> 1 clergy and 1 lay person from each archdeaconry to be elected.

Operating Committee

The day-to-day business of the Finance Committee is delegated to the Operating Sub-Committee. The Subcommittee is subject to the direction of the Finance Committee, which may review and overturn its decisions. It meets at least four times a year and more commonly six times.

1 clergy and 1 lay person to be elected. Candidates must be members of the DBF (i.e. members of Diocesan Synod).

Parsonages and Houses Sub-committees

The functions of the Diocesan Parsonages Board are delegated to two Sub-committees, one for the east of the Diocese (Hastings and Brighton & Lewes) and one for the west (Horsham and Chichester). Each meets at least three times a year.

2 clergy and 1 lay person from the two relevant archdeaconries to be elected to each committee. Candidates must be members of Diocesan Synod.

Assets Committee

The Assets Committee has a dual function. It is the Committee required under the Endowments and Glebe Measure 1976 for the management of Diocesan glebe, and also has responsibility for non-land investments (cash, shares etc), in order to be able to integrate a joined-up investment strategy. It is subject to any directions given by the Finance Committee. It meets at least twice a year.

1 clergy and 1 lay person to be elected. Candidates must be members of the DBF (i.e. members of Diocesan Synod).

Mission and Pastoral Sub-Committees

Two Mission and Pastoral Sub-committees, one for the east of the Diocese (Hastings and Brighton & Lewes) and one for the west (Horsham and Chichester), carry out the bulk of the work of the statutory Mission and Pastoral Committee. Each Sub-committee meets at least three times a year.

➤ 1 clergy and 2 lay people to be elected from each relevant archdeaconry. Candidates must be members of Diocesan Synod.

Vacancy in See Committee

This statutory committee meets as and when required to perform certain functions in the event of a vacancy in the Diocesan See.

2 clergy and 2 lay people to be elected. Lay candidates must be on the electoral roll or a parish in the diocese